Automation or workflows are automated email marketing that allows you to save time by setting up autoresponder emails. Unlike campaigns which we have to schedule every day, An email workflow is a series of automated emails that will be sent or not based on contact’s information and a set of actions used.

In Maropost, you can use our advanced drag and drop workflows to keep your contacts active and involved with your brand through an automated process. The workflow elements has been divided into following categories:

a. Triggers– There are 12 triggers. The trigger will form the first step of the drag and drop workflows. Every trigger has a different function and should be used to define or create a unique workflow.

b. ActionsThere are 8 different elements which define the course of what action will be initiated like send email, trigger workflow, end workflow, change contact field, HTTP post, change subscription etc.

c. FiltersThere are 4 filter elements Yes/No, Case, %Split, A/B Split. The first 2 filters are based on segments and the rest of the 2 elements are used to distribute contacts into a separate group based on the percentage assigned.

d. DelayThere are 2 buttons under delay. The delay button helps you to define a certain period of time for the delay whereas delay until helps you to select a date till when you want the delay to remain. Delay until has multiple options which are explained later in this article.

e.  EndThere are 2 elements under this. “End workflow” and  “End” element.

To access workflows, kindly follow the steps below:

  1. Hover the cursor to the (M) logo and then click on “Automation” from the drop-down.
    —–

    automation

  2. The workflow index page will open.
    —–

    Workflows index page

    This page shows the existing workflows if any.

  3. In order to create a new workflow, kindly hover the cursor to “Workflows” and then click on “New Workflow”.
    —–

    New workflow

  4. Enter a name. There are 2 checkboxes, one for “Re-trigger workflow” and other is “Enabled” which is checked by default. So if you wish to create a workflow and not make it live, then uncheck the “Enabled” button while creating a new workflow.
    —–

    workflow options

    Re-trigger workflow option is to re-trigger a workflow for a contact. For re-trigger to work, a contact must complete its journey once. If a contact is at some point of the workflow and you try to re-trigger the workflow using the workflow API, it will not work.

  5. Once you hit save, the workflow canvas page will open. On the left-hand side, you will see all the elements divided into different categories as discussed above. The black frame is the canvas where we will create the workflow sequence using different elements.
    —–

    Workflow Canvas

  6. Once you have set up the workflow, kindly click on “Save workflow” at the bottom right corner. The “Clear Workflow” option removes all the elements from the workflow canvas page whereas the “Exit Workflow” takes you back to the workflow index page.
  7. Below every workflow name, there are several options which are explained below:a.Edit: Using this, you can edit the workflow name, enable/disable the workflow or enable/disable the re-trigger option.b. Duplicate: This allows you to duplicate a workflow. This will inherit all the elements of the existing workflow into the new one.

    c. Delete: You can delete a workflow using this option. Kindly note that if a workflow has more than 10 contacts, then you can not delete it.d. Export: Using this option, you can export all the contacts that are present in the workflow. Workflow contacts can have the following status:

    (i) Finished -This means the contact has completed the workflow journey
    (ii) Paused –
    This means the contact has been paused in the workflow either by using workflow Start/Stop API or through the contact show page.
    (iii) Active –
    This means that the contact is active in the workflow.

    In the exported CSV file, it will show all the contacts with above statuses along with their created at and updated at dates.

    —–

    All workflow options

    e. Contacts: By clicking on this option, you will be able to view all the contacts present in the workflow along with their current status.

    f. Enabled/Disabled: This options lets you disable or enable a workflow depending upon its current status.

    g. Contacts: On the right side, this option shows the total number of contacts present in a workflow.

    h. Items: This shows the total number of items (elements) present in the workflow.

  8. To know more about each trigger, action, filters and delays, check their documentation.
Advertisements